Tottenham’s 15 years of irrelevance is nothing → The EPL club that was irrelevant for 98 years

Premier League clubs that have been on the sidelines for a long time are being recognized.

British media outlet GiveMySport on Thursday revealed which Premier League clubs have been around the longest since winning a major trophy. Of the 20 clubs competing in the Premier League this season, five have never won a major trophy.

The oldest Premier League club to win a major trophy is Sheffield United. Sheffield United hasn’t won the FA Cup since 1925. That’s a whopping 98 years without a trophy.

Newcastle United, which was bought by Saudi Arabia’s sovereign wealth fund and is considered to have the deepest pockets of any Premier League club, hasn’t won a trophy since winning the FA Cup in 1955. After 68 years without a trophy, Newcastle reached the League Cup final last season but had to settle for runner-up honors. Newcastle finished fourth in the Premier League last season and returned to the UEFA Champions League after a 21-year absence. 메이저사이트

Burnley, meanwhile, have not won the Premier League title in 63 years, having last won it in 1960. League Cup winners Wolverhampton, Luton Town, Nottingham Forest, and Aston Villa, as well as FA Cup winners Everton, have not won the title since 2000.

Tottenham last won the League Cup in 2008, making them seventh on the list of Premier League clubs with the shortest recent winning streak. Spurs were also knocked out of this season’s League Cup in the first round by Fulham after a 15-year absence.

Arsenal last won the FA Cup in 2020, while Chelsea, Liverpool, Manchester United, West Ham United, and Manchester City have won the trophy in the last two years.

The most decorated Premier League club is Liverpool, which has won 45 trophies across the Premier League, UEFA Champions League, FA Cup, and League Cup. Manchester United has won 43 titles, followed by Arsenal with 30 and Manchester City with 26. Tottenham has won 17 titles.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *